clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Olympic Hockey Day 11: Qualification, Such an Aggravation

New, comments

Welcome to the seventh (?) of a regular feature throughout the Olympic break, an open thread to discuss all that is going on in the sport of hockey at the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver.  (Note: John or I make these the night before, scheduled to appear at 10 AM.  I should be up for the late games, so hang out with me, won't you?.)

Just so you know, the Devils are stepping up online for additional coverage.  The official site has a hub for the Olympics; complete with a schedule for both tournaments. The team site also has a blog written by team correspondent Scott Modrzynski called The Devil is in the Details.  All posts are listed on the hub; just scroll down past the players and you'll see it on the side.  Zach Parise is also providing a few words to Tom Gulitti's Fire & Ice every day, so check that out.

The US and Canada women have forced yet another Gold Medal grudge match after combining to score nearly 90 goals up to this point, while giving up fewer than 10.  Amazing.  

Special Rule: Do not use these posts to complain about how no one cares about Men's Ice Hockey. This isn't the place for that. Violators will be banned until March 1 assuming no other rules were broken. 

Please use this post  for all your comments, analysis, and thoughts about today's hockey games in Men's Ice Hockey games.   Not the other Olympic sports, mind you.

February 23, 2010 Schedule 

Men's Ice Hockey - Qualification Round

3:00 PM ET/Noon PT - Qualifier 1: Belarus vs. Switzerland (USA Net) 

7:30 PM ET/4:30 PM PT - Qualifier 2: Germany vs. Canada (CNBC) 

10:00 PM ET/7:00 PM PT - Qualifier 3: Czech Republic vs. Latvia (CNBC)

Midnight ET/9:00 PM PT - Qualifier 4: Slovakia vs. Norway (CNBC)

Want to watch the games online and legally? For the Americans, NBC has streaming options. For the Canadians, CTV has streams.  Thanks to user C.J.Richey121 for the NBC information and to user dchoubak about CTV.  Let's do this.